I Never Saw the Snake!

“You ask me if I keep a notebook to record my great ideas. I’ve only ever had one.”
Albert Einstein

The least expensive way to make our young water park, Water Mania, look full and beautiful was to continually enhance our landscaping. We made deals around town and dug up people’s unwanted palm trees and transported them to our park. We also bought out two entire nurseries that were going out of business and brought the plants to the park.

On one such trip I had been hauling potted plants in our van. After unloading the plants I was in a hurry to return to get another load so I jumped into the van and grabbed the steering wheel ready to get going. Unbeknownst to me, a snake had wrapped itself around the steering wheel. I didn’t notice it in my haste and so the only way I knew it was there was when I squeezed the steering wheel I squeezed the snake also. I didn’t just touch it; I squeezed it!

I have no idea what I was thinking about before or after but I will never forget that moment. My mind and body focused intensely and I jumped the heck out of the van. In a very similar way, inspiration can hit you. You may have been pondering a problem and seeking a solution for months to no avail. Then out of the blue, you may be doing something entirely unrelated to that problem and an answer or direction comes to you. That is inspiration. You can argue the source of that inspiration but we are all entitled to it.

When it comes, be thankful for it. Recognize it as something that makes you different from everything else on the earth. Ask for it in your prayers. If you do not believe in a higher being then just be grateful it came to you from whatever the source.

Inspiration is world-changing. Inspiration is life changing. Inspiration brings peace. Inspiration brings focus. A  HighFive Your Life principle is to recognize inspiration for what it is and don’t treat it lightly.

Soon after my marriage to Joey I was painfully worried about where we should live. I felt strongly that we should move to a place where she would be more exposed to the gospel as we were of different beliefs. I will never forget walking through my bedroom and the voice of one of my past church leaders came into my head as if he were standing next to me. I knew it was his voice because he had been treated for cancer in his larynx and had a raspy voice. The voice simply said “it doesn’t matter where you live…just live the gospel.” It has never happened again to me but I will never forget that experience. I put the matter to rest right then and there. I accepted that message as inspiration and ceased to worry about it anymore.

HighFive Your Life Principle: Listen to and treasure the inspiration you receive.

Please share stories from your life regarding this principle. If you would like to follow the weekly blog, please press the “follow” prompt. Thank you for keeping your comments appropriate for all readers.

Leave a Reply

