Thank You for Blowing Your Horn

Anger is an acid that can do more harm to the vessel in which it is stored than to anything on which it is poured.”
Mark Twain
 
There is life after road rage! I was standing at the counter inside a bank and the teller was working both my window and the drive through. She did some of my work and at a breaking point went over to the drive through window to tell the driver that he was using a deposit slip from another bank with  the check he was trying to deposit. She explained it to him and he finally just decided to park his car and come in and talk to her. He put it in reverse and was met by a loud horn honking behind him. He braked sharply and then pulled forward and parked in the parking lot.
 
The teller finished my work and as I left the bank I saw the driver go over to the car that honked at him and say to the other driver…”Thank you for blowing your horn.” He continued by saying something to the effect that he had just been frustrated and didn’t even look behind him and in just a few seconds they were both laughing.

What a great world it would be if each of us took responsibility for our actions. Can you imagine the refreshing air that would blow through our communities if we gave people the benefit of the doubt, didn’t rush to conclusions, tried not to be offended and in general were just nice to each other?

Many years ago while driving through a rough part of town my wife and I slowed to make a turn and there were 4 young men crossing the road. As we went by one of them reached out and swatted the back-end of our car. My immediate emotion was that of a man who had been assaulted personally and anger and adrenalin coursed through my being. My wife was driving however and she was not about to stop. It is a good thing because I would have most likely been on the bad side of a butt whooping. For several days my mood was altered every time I thought back to that moment when they hit the car. It really bothered me for days.

It all seems so stupid at its very core. I should have been so far above it that I could have just said…”thank you for swatting my car” and gone on about my business. That is a lot easier to say than “thank you for that butt whooping” which was sure to follow had I been at the wheel of the car.

The HighFive Your Life principle has “give and take” at its core… remember, if you cause something that makes “road rage” the next natural most likely event, take a deep breath, give an apology, and take responsibility for your actions. If the other person is the knucklehead, give them a second chance and give them mercy. Somebody needs to be the diffuser of the situation and it takes practice to be able to do it when something really serious happens. Start practicing today. It may seem hard but it is much easier than saying thank you to a butt whooping.

The HighFive Your Life principle is, if you cause something that makes “road rage” the next natural most likely event, take a deep breath, give an apology, and take responsibility for your actions. If the other person is the knucklehead, give them a second chance and give them mercy.

Please share stories from your life regarding this principle. If you would like to follow the weekly blog, please press the “follow” prompt. Thank you for keeping your comments appropriate for all readers.

Leave a Reply

