Glory or Flat On Your Face?

hf41

 “Whenever you are asked if you can do a job, tell ’em,’Certainly I can!’… Then get busy and find out how to do it.”

Theodore Roosevelt

I broke through the line and out into the open field. As the fullback for Princeton University I was not used to finding myself in this position. Most of my running plays were up the middle gaining 2 or 3 yards at a time. Now, to find myself in the open field running towards the goal line, was a relatively new phenomenon.

The crowds rose in anticipation. There was only one defensive person between me and the longest run of my career and almost certainly a touchdown. As I approached this defensive back I began to put on my moves. I faked one way and then faked the other way and then with him still a few yards in front of me, I tripped and fell flat on my face. He never even had to touch me. My moment of glory turned in to an embarrassing spectacle that I’m sure generated a chuckle and a cuss word or two in the stands.

I had become very efficient and skilled at running in a lot of traffic, hitting and spinning and grinding out another yard or two but had not practiced much at running in the open field. I was not prepared for the real opportunity to gain more yards…I was not prepared for real success…I was not prepared for the opportunity to really progress and become a more important part of the team when the opportunity presented itself.

Most of us will have opportunities cross our paths throughout our lifetime and most of us will have made the mistake of simply waking up every morning and grinding out our lives in the lifestyle that we have become accustomed to living. When the opportunity crosses our path we either don’t recognize it or are not prepared to excel with it.

On the other hand, there are people who study a little extra, get out of their comfort zone a little more often, work a little harder to learn a new skill, all the while grinding their way forward like the rest of us in this thing we call life. However, when the opportunity crosses their path not only are they ready for it, they have been looking for it and therefore pounce on it and take their lives to the next level.

The HighFive Your Life principle is to learn a new skill. Challenge yourself to expand your abilities. Embrace the gifts that are yours but have not yet been developed. Get yourself ready because sooner or later you are going to find yourself running on the open field with just one person between you and glory and how are you going to respond?….will it be a touchdown or will you fall flat on your face. The outcome of that play is up to you.

Tell a Story

2 thoughts on “Glory or Flat On Your Face?”

  1. Love this story…..mom told me to look up your blog for some inspiration to a Stake YW training I am doing. Topic being “JUST DO IT”. Thanks for your personal story and encouraging words!

Leave a Reply

