Escape

Desperation is the raw material of drastic change. Only those who can leave behind everything they have ever believed in can hope to escape.

 William S. Burroughs

Ok let’s be honest. I wanted to get married in the worst way through most of my twenties (I tied the knot when I was 31). My goals were pretty high…much higher than what I really deserved but they were high none the less. From the time that I joined the Mormon church at 21 I knew that I wanted to marry a woman of my faith and live happily ever after. I got my MBA at BYU in Provo Utah and while there searched for the lady of my dreams unsuccessfully.

After I graduated I took a job at my family’s hotel business back in Florida and traveled within the tourism industry. At one convention in Miami I met a beautiful lady who surprisingly  ( I was definitely surprised) invited me over to her home that night. She had beautiful big brown eyes which made the part where she said her husband was a policeman and wouldn’t be home until later almost sound ok. I was flattered but of course declined.

The worst part however was that the next morning I started questioning myself and considering the alternative to the decision I had made. I actually scared myself so badly that a scripture from the Bible came to my mind. It is found in 1 Corinthians 10:13.

“There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.”

The word that rang the loudest in my heard was “escape”. I drove home that day and turned in my resignation to my parents and told them that I needed to go back to Utah to find my  wife and that was all there was to it. I loaded up the truck and took my dog and within a couple of weeks was settled into a new life in Utah. I only stayed for 6 months and then moved back to Florida. In an ironic twist, it was years later that I finally married a women who was not of my faith but the dream of my life.

The important principle to glean from this story is the principle of “escape”. There is a time to stand your ground and there is a time to fold up your tent and get out of town. You need to know when to hold them and know when to fold them. Consider your situation and do not be afraid of escaping if needed. Sometimes a new environment helps you clear your head and gather your thoughts. Sometimes new friends help you in ways that your old friends couldn’t. Sometimes just seeing the sun rise from a different place offers new hope to your soul. When the personal and heartfelt call comes to escape, do not hesitate. Escape.

HighFive Your Life Principle: There is a time to stand your ground and there is a time to fold up your tent and get out of town. Consider your situation and do not be afraid of escaping if needed.

Tell a Story

Leave a Reply

