Second Chances

I mean we all need a second chance sometimes.

Joel Osteen

America is the land of the second chance – and when the gates of the prison open, the path ahead should lead to a better life.

George W. Bush

 

     One day my wife noticed that a nice tall oak had started leaning across our driveway. She was worried so I took a look at it and tried to envision its survival. We have another beautiful leaning oak that extends out over our lake and I thought

010

that maybe the tree that was leaning across our driveway might actually make it and that it might end up being beautiful also. A few weeks went by and my wife told me that she believed that the tree had leaned further. I checked the base of the tree and gave it another thumbs up. I considered cutting off a few limbs to help it but still thought that it had a good chance to survive. A few days later the tree fell!

006

My wife was right once again. Our driveway was blocked and the tree needed to be removed. Is it the hopeful person in me that wanted to give the tree a second chance when all information indicated that it was dangerous and needed to be cut down? Maybe…but I see around me the incredible beauty that is created when second chances are given.

However, I could have done more to save the tree. I could have cut off some branches to lighten the load or braced the trunk to give the roots more time to secure themselves. In other words, my hope and gift of a second chance was not sufficient for the realities of the situation.

If you are in a position to grant a person a second chance then do it knowing that you may also have a responsibility to help that person succeed. It may take a little more effort on your part than just your gracious nod of withheld judgment. You may have to make a few phone calls and pay more attention to the issue. You may have to forgive and love a little more. You may have to stay involved. A second chance is not a gift…it is an agreement…a covenant that you are making to not only allow it but to help make sure it is successful if it is within your power to do so.

HighFive Your Life Principle: Allowing a second chance is good. Making sure that a second chance is successful is great. If it is within your power to do so it is your responsibility to do so.

Tell a Story

One thought on “Second Chances”

  1. Can I simply just say what a comfort to find somebody that really knows
    what they’re talking about on the web. You certainly understand how to bring a problem
    to light and make it important. More and more people ought to
    look at this and understand this side of your story. I was surprised you’re not more popular given that you definitely possess
    the gift.

Leave a Reply

