I Just Joined “Olds” Gym

“You know you’re getting old when the candles cost more than the cake”

Bob Hope

I recently had hip replacement surgery and was given two pages of exercises to do at home to speed up my rehabilitation. I mean real crunchers like ankle ups and downs and getting in and out of a chair. I am not insulting the program. It is a miracle. It is just hard to think that instead of getting the driving music and work out atmosphere of a Golds Gym, I am now worrying about staying awake while I lift my leg a few inches in a way that doesn’t let my new titanium hip-joint disengage…I just joined “Olds” gym!

For a few of my exercises I can lie in a bed; for a few I can sit in a chair and for the really demanding ones, I can stand up. My best exercise of all is just walking! In fact, while still at the hospital, I won the “furthest walking” trophy, whooping my fellow hip replacement patients probably by yards. Perhaps we were on different meds but fortunately there is not a track and field drug testing requirement in order to participate in the contest….and maybe I shouldn’t have elbowed that older lady on the turn but we need to try to win right??

IMG_8112

 

I’m just kidding!!

I am so impressed with the miracle of modern medicine and the amazing ability to be able to walk with that hip again without pain. I may be at Olds Gym for now but it won’t be for long. Thank goodness for all of the hard-working scientists and doctors and nurses and others who have developed these techniques to give the gift of mobility back to millions. To you I say “Thank you”!

Forty plus years ago my grandmother had the surgery done and it helped her. Ten plus years ago my mother had her hip replaced and she has never looked back. For me, Olds Gym is an okay place to be for a few months and then watch out… I am going to crank up some music from the seventies and actually break a sweat when I do my workout.

Hip replacement surgery promises a new day for many with limited mobility, and in most cases delivers more than what was expected. I am so excited to have had one of mine done…so excited that I am going to do the other one in about three months!  Golds here I come!

If you would like to be notified of future blogs by Gary please hit the “follow” button at the top of this blog.

 

3 thoughts on “I Just Joined “Olds” Gym”

  1. You are too funny, I about fell off my chair laughing. I am sooo happy you are doing so well, we have been concerned for both you and Joey!! I know you guys have so much pressure constantly, but at least one down and one to go!! Please don’t overdo and keep up that happy face…..they say that being “up” is the best medicine and promotes healing!!! 🙂 🙂 Love ya and in our prayers…..Scott and Sharon

  2. Hi there! This post could not be written any better!
    Looking through this article reminds me of my
    previous roommate! He always kept talking about
    this. I’ll forward this post to him. Pretty sure
    he will have a great read. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

