Sometimes, Given Time, Your Problems Just Take Care of Themselves

 

Genius is eternal patience.

Michelangelo

  IMG_2467

 

When the wind blows hard in the right direction our pool screen gets covered with debris. I was surprised recently to notice that a single strand of moss that was stuck to the screen also acted like a windshield wiper. As the wind blew it back and forth across the screen it cleaned up a perfect spot.

It made me ponder about the troubles that we wake up to every morning after the winds of life have been blowing hard. We look around and wonder how in the world am I going to take care of all of the debris and challenges in my life. It might do us good to take a deep breath and tell ourselves to be patient. Odds are that some of these challenges are going to solve themselves if given time to do so. Perhaps time will become our friend instead of our antagonist.

It reminds me of the first two verses of the Serenity Prayer written by Reinhold Niebuhr:

“GOD, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, Courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.”

If a piece of debris in the form of a strand of moss hanging on my screen can inadvertently clean my screen, I think that we will all be amazed at the many problems before us that will, little by little, solve themselves without our stress, input, need to be involved and worry. Be patient. Give it some time and allow the natural processes to take place. Develope the skill and virtue of patience.

I wonder if my wife would mind if I just started hanging moss in my office and other places she wants me to clean. I could just ask her to be patient and see what happens….actually, I think that is where I should pay a little more attention to the “wisdom to know the difference” part of the poem and just start sweeping.

Please share with your friends and if you would like to be notified of future blogs by Gary, please hit the “follow” button at the top of this blog.

2 thoughts on “Sometimes, Given Time, Your Problems Just Take Care of Themselves”

  1. The real question is Gary, how do I build that wisdom to know the difference. I am stressing out over a lot of things and knowing what to and what not to stress over would be great… Any advice?

    1. You are building your wisdom to know the difference everyday as you make choices and see results. Ultimately it comes down to what are the most important things to you…then you make sure that you do not get caught up in ” the thick of thin things”. You are learning just the way we all have learned….praying for wisdom beyond my years is also a common plea from my lips when I pray. Love you Bro!

Leave a Reply

