Giving Back to the Community…A Home Run

“Giving back involves a certain amount of giving up”

Colin Powell

This week I had the opportunity to speak to the Kiwanis Club in Mt Dora. I began my thoughts with a message of gratitude for all that they have done for the youth in their communities. I shared with them that I had played on the Little League team in Kissimmee back in the 1960s sponsored by the Kiwanis Club and expressed my gratitude for their contributions to the youth back then.

Gary photo album scans 014_2

I then reached in to my little bag and pulled out the very Kiwanis uniform that I had worn over 4 decades ago. I still have it and it was fun to share. It was a shocker to most!

IMG_3051 (2)

My hat does not fit anymore but it is still off to the many service organizations that day in and day out, year after year, decade after decade, reach out to serve their peers in some way that rarely is recognized but nonetheless, is consistently providing service to others.

I believe that it is in our nature to want to serve others and we do it in many different ways…sometimes as part of a club or church..and sometimes just on our own. With my hip surgery, I am now walking with a cane. It is amazing how many people reach out to open a door or offer to carry something for me. People that don’t know me…just people who care about the situation of those around them.

Sometimes the world feels so heavy with all the turmoil surrounding us. I am reminded that the majority of people seek to do good and to help one another. The uniform doesn’t fit anymore but the goodwill and service that made that uniform possible are here to stay and to me that is a home run!

Please share with your friends and if you would like to be notified of future blogs by Gary, please hit the “follow” button at the top of this blog.

Leave a Reply

