Love Knows No Time Limit…but the Florist Does!

An idealist is one who, on noticing that roses smell better than a cabbage, concludes that it will also make a better soup.”
H.L. Mencken

My wife was out-of-state visiting our grandchild on Valentine’s Day. Sometime early that afternoon, I realized that I could actually order flowers and have them delivered to her in Arkansas. She is normally not very big on flowers but I determined that this would show effort on my part and be received in a positive way.

I went online and found a website that delivered on Saturday. As I read more, I began to see disclaimers or warnings that indicated that, due to the high volume, the deliveries might not happen until Sunday or Monday. I decided to take the risk even though she was flying home Sunday afternoon. I added a thoughtful card with my own prose:

“Roses are red
I hope you get this before I am dead
Come home soon
Your favorite goon”

I know…I have a way with words.

By Saturday evening when I did not get a romance filled phone call, I correctly assumed that the delivery had not been made. By the time she went to the airport on Sunday, I still had not received that call. I picked her up Sunday night at the airport and did not mention the flowers. I told my son in Arkansas to be on the lookout for them but they did arrive on Monday either. I finally told my wife of my failed effort hoping to score a few points for trying.

The next day, Tuesday, we got a call from the delivery man in Arkansas trying to find the home so he could drop off the flowers. My wife handled the call and began the process of asking for a refund. I agreed since they were not delivered on the last day advertised which was Monday. Since then, several emails have gone back and forth to determine if a refund is coming. Yep…my flowers became my wife’s burden.

What is the point of this story?

Well… roses are red. She for sure will not get the flowers before I am dead. She came home soon…and well…I guess I confirmed my status as a goon.

At least I think I am still her favorite.

If you enjoyed this blog, please share with your friends. If you would like to be notified of future blogs by Gary, please hit the “follow” button at the top of this blog. If you are using a smart phone the “follow” icon is sometimes at the bottom of the blog.

 

Leave a Reply

