Let’s Make Showers Stress Free Once Again

“If you ask what is the single most important key to longevity, I would have to say it is avoiding worry, stress and tension. And if you didn’t ask me I’d still have to say it.”
George Burns

It seems like taking a shower should be a reward at the end of the day when nice hot water washes away your troubles and, for just a moment, you are relieved of the worries of the world. That’s how my showers start. Then it comes time to wash my hair and the stress begins.

For some reason, one bar of soap is not sufficient to shower properly any more. I remember when a bar of Lava would take everything off your skin except freckles and that seemed to be just fine. Then came beautiful colored shampoos and maybe even Head and Shoulders but it was still an easy process for men to follow.

Then came marriage and the shower evolution took place. I mean how many soaps and conditioners and detanglers and body lotions and shampoos are really necessary. Tonight my shower started out stress free and quiet. Then it came time to wash my hair and there were three unidentifiable big bottles in the corners of the tub and another one sitting right outside the curtain on the floor.

The light was dim and I of course didn’t have my reading glasses on so it was fruitless to try and read them. I made out “Aloe” on one of the bottles and assumed that must not be shampoo. My wife was out of town so there was no help coming. I was on my own. I finally just picked a bottle and washed my hair with whatever was in it.

I don’t mind using shampoos with names of flowers or scents of herbs. I don’t even mind shaving with a razor that has a pink handle. But would somebody please make a shampoo that, when it is in a bottle, looks like shampoo that a woman can and would buy and that a man can properly identify in a shower that is dimly lit with no reading glasses? If my wife, as a woman, has to buy two bottles instead of one then put shampoo in both of them but label one shampoo and the other conditioner. And use two inch letters that say “Shampoo”. Write it vertically if you have to.

As I get older and balder, I realize that stress free showers are right around the corner for me regardless of the smorgasbord of tall skinny plastic nameless bottles that may fill my shower corners. In the meantime, I may go back to Lava…or maybe use Aloe…or rubbing alcohol…or Nyquil…or Hydrogen Peroxide…or whichever other bottle whose label I can’t read is sitting within reach of the shower.

Let’s make showers stress free and make shampoo bottles for dummies and then take it one step further and make shampoo bottles for men.

Leave a Reply

